What is the best way to minimise costs for an intermittently running environment?

Hopefully this is a very simple one to answer, but it involves billing (which is probably my least-understood part of AWS :wink: ).

I am having trouble finding the details on the AWS web console now, but I am sure when I previously subscribed to Datomic Cloud on the AWS Marketplace there was a cost listed both for the subscription itself, and separately for the cost of running the infrastructure on AWS (DynamoDB tables, S3 storage, instances. Mostly the instances).

My question is, if I have an environment that is only normally spun up intermittently, for load testing purposes, how can I minimise our costs when it is not running?

• Am I right about there being a subscription cost on top of the infra cost (I mean, if not, how are Cognitect making money)?
  • If I have an active subscription on AWS Marketplace but I have no CloudFormation stacks active, will there be any charges against us relating to Datomic?
  • Is it enough to scale the autoscaling group down to 0 instances, or do I have to completely delete the CloudFormation stack, to avoid the subscription charge?
  • Do I have to delete the storage stack as well as the compute stack?
    • I know that the S3 bucket and DynamoDB tables are not deleted when the storage stack is torn down. Do I have to delete them, or can I keep them and the data they contain as long as the stack is gone?

Thanks

Dan

1 Like

Hi @Danm!

The total cost of running a Datomic system is the sum of the base price and the usage price .

• The base price is the total monthly price of services that are billed per unit time, usually per hour (e.g. EC2 instances) or per month (e.g. KMS keys). A running Datomic system has a well-known base price based on its configuration, regardless of how the system used.