Best way to model the equivalent of join tables or cross reference tables in Datomic

We’re migrating a legacy Oracle Database application to Datomic and we’re trying to preserve as much of our data model as makes sense while updating to something that fits more with Datomic. I’m puzzling over what to do with a particular join table, which exists for two reasons: 1) there’s a many-to-many relationship; 2) there are attributes associated with the relationship. There’s a third interesting twist that’s throwing me off… the attributes associated with the relationship are specific to the current user. This brings in a third table in Oracle.

I have no trouble thinking of ways to model this in Datomic. The trouble is, what’s the “best way” or rather, what are the pros and cons down the road. Since I’m relatively new to Datomic, I’m having a hard time seeing how my decision now will impact us in a year or two.

Here’s the problem laid out more precisely. Say I have entities with attributes grouped under the namespaces :foo and :bar. These two sets of entities are related and the relationship carries a set of attributes, too. Those set of attributes are specific to the current user. The current user is defined by an entity with attributes namespaced with :user.

Here are some ways to model the attributes on the above relation.

1. For every combination of :foo, :bar, and :user, create an entity and add attributes to that entity. The schema for this entity might look like:

{:db/ident :foo-bar-user/foo
    :db/valueType :db.type/ref
    :db/cardinality :db.cardinality/one
    :db/doc “The Foo for this relation”}
    {:db/ident :foo-bar-user/bar
    :db/doc “The Bar for this relation”}
    {:db/ident :foo-bar-user/user
    :db/doc “The User for this relation”}
    {:db/ident :foo-bar-user/an-attribute
    :db/valueType :db.type/string
    :db/doc “Some attribute on the relation”}